News Flash

Police

Posted on: September 4, 2019

Roadmap To Recovery Info

RTR

Roadmap To Recovery – Navigating Behavioral Health Resources open house event

The Marietta Police Department hosted the first ever "ROADMAP TO RECOVERY" community gathering Tuesday night September 10, 2019.  The meeting took place in the seminar room at the Marietta High School with approximately (100) members of the community attending.    


As your local law enforcement, we are often asked who people in crisis can turn to for help.  Did you know there are more than a dozen organizations right here in Cobb County that specialize in topics including but not limited to: Addiction, Recovery, Intervention and Mental Health? Several of these services are free or have sliding payment scales based on individual insurance or ability to pay.  Some organizations are geared toward the individual in crisis, others include support groups for families of someone in crisis.  You never know when you may need this information.  We encourage everyone to help spread the word about these amazing organizations right here in our own community. Representatives from more than (15) Cobb County organizations were present for the gathering and spoke one-on-one with attendees.

The Cobb Overdose Prevention Effort (C.O.P.E.) House (custom trailer) was also onsite for tours.  Each tour was hosted by someone in recovery who taught attendees warning signs that someone you know may be struggling with addiction.  A comprehensive list of all the agencies that attended and want to be contacted to help in the future include (no specific order):

Oak Tree – Lisa Hunker, M.Ed.

Valor House Recovery – Jason Rudra Brumbelow,   nick@valorhouse.net

Soul Changes – Sheila,   changedmysoul@gmail.com

RSVP& Veterans Outreach Program (Cobb Senior Services) – Mike Nichols,    mike.nichols@cobbcounty.org

Someone Cares Atlanta – Samuel Craig, PhD,           samuelcraig@s1catl.org

LiveSafe Resources – Karelis Ferrer 

Cobb County Community Services Board – Melissa O’Brien & Foster Norman,      mobrien@cobbcsb.com    fnorman@cobbcsb.com

St. Jude’s Recovery Center – Rusty Gray,   rgray@sjrcatl.org

Cornerstone Recovery   Daniel Williams,   daniel@alanarecovery.com

The Extension – David Ragsdale, DavidRagsdale@theextension.org  and Tony,  tony@theextension.org

Cobb County Police Department – Ofc. J.A. King,           Jacob.king@cobbcounty.org

Cobb County DA’s Office – Latoya Inzar, Matthew Mize and Joyette Holmes,  Laytoya.Inzar@cobbcounty.org   matthew.mize@cobbcounty.org   Joyette.Holmes@cobbconty.org

Marietta High School – Dr. Rona Roberts,     rroberts@marietta-city.k12.ga.us

The Zone/ Davis Direction Foundation – Justin Jackson,     justin@davisdirection.com

NAMI – Niell Blake,     nhblake@gmail.com

Ser Familia – Belisa Urbina & Migdalia Rivera,   mrivera@serfam.org   belisa@serfam.org

Foundry Counseling – David Sturgess,   david@foundrycounseling.com

Serenity Over Suffering  -  Spencer Stein & James May

ALANA Recovery Center – Daniel Williams,   danile@alanarecovery.com

Sober Living America – Taylor McDonald,    taylor.mcdonald@soberlivingamerica.org

Michelle Cooper Kelly – Marietta City Council

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police

SMILE Pic

S.M.I.L.E. Marietta!

Posted on: January 7, 2019
LTH

LOCK TAKE HIDE

Posted on: November 14, 2017
January 2018 174

Marietta School Safety

Posted on: February 27, 2018
Slide 1

Early Detection of Opioid Addiction

Posted on: January 3, 2018
Elder Abuse

Elder Abuse Information - UPDATED

Posted on: September 27, 2017